Chargeback Blacklist holds 5.0 stars from 9 reviews on the Shopify App Store and is a blocking product. Directly targets serial abusers, and a blocklist is the cheapest possible defence against a customer who has already disputed once. Aurai covers both prevention and representment on a single 25%-of-wins fee, with no monthly cost and nothing owed on a loss — but no review history yet. Aurai screens every order on risk signals rather than only known-bad identities, and fights the disputes that get through.
What is a chargeback, and why automate the response?
A chargeback is a customer disputing a card payment with their bank rather than asking you for a refund. The money is pulled back immediately, a fee is charged whether or not you contest, and the dispute counts against the ratio the card networks monitor. You then have a fixed window — often 7 to 21 days — to submit evidence.
Doing that by hand works below roughly five disputes a month. Past that, deadlines slip, and a missed deadline is an automatic loss. Tools in this category automate one or both halves of the problem: stopping disputes before they file, and answering the ones that do. Chargeback Blacklist is a blocking product; Aurai does both. That distinction matters more than any feature list — a lost dispute costs roughly 2.5× the order value once goods and staff time are counted.
At a glance
| Feature | Aurai | Chargeback Blacklist |
|---|---|---|
| App Store rating | New listing — no reviews yet | 5.0 (9 reviews) |
| Category | Prevention + representment | blocking |
| Pricing model | 25% of recovered disputes | Free plan available · free trial available |
| Monthly / setup fees | None | None stated |
| Fights filed disputes | Yes | No |
| Prevents disputes filing | Yes, included | Yes |
| Works with | Stripe, PayPal, Shopify | Shopify Checkout, Shopify Admin |
| Built for Shopify badge | No | Yes |
| Setup time | ~2 minutes | Not stated on listing |
| Developer | Aurai | Auremist |
Read from the live App Store listing on September 9, 2026. Ratings and pricing change — check the current listing before deciding. Where Chargeback Blacklist's listing does not state something, this says so rather than guessing.
Pricing
Chargeback Blacklist: Free plan available · free trial available. That is what the listing states as of September 9, 2026.
Aurai: free to install, then 25% of each dispute it recovers. No monthly fee, no setup fee, nothing owed when a dispute is lost. Prevention is included rather than billed separately or per alert.
The models are not directly comparable across categories. A per-alert fee scales with your dispute volume whether or not the alert would have become a chargeback; a success fee only costs you after money has come back. Work it out with your own numbers in the cost calculator.
Automation & setup
Chargeback Blacklist blocks checkout by email, name, phone or address, catching repeat offenders automatically once they are on the list. Setup is a Shopify Admin and Checkout integration; the listing does not state a time. Aurai screens every order on risk signals rather than only known-bad identities.
Aurai takes an agent-first approach — one autonomous agent detects the dispute, gathers evidence, writes a reason-code-specific rebuttal, and submits it, typically in about 90 seconds per dispute. Setup is an OAuth connection to your processor and takes roughly two minutes, with nothing to install on your storefront and no code change.
Integrations
Chargeback Blacklist lists: Shopify Checkout, Shopify Admin. It carries Shopify's Built for Shopify badge.
Aurai connects to Stripe, PayPal and Shopify Payments. It does not carry the Built for Shopify badge yet. If your volume runs through a processor outside those three, that is a reason to prefer Chargeback Blacklist.
Fraud prevention
Chargeback Blacklist blocks known-bad customers at checkout. Effective against repeat abusers, but first-time fraud and every non-fraud dispute pass through untouched.
Aurai screens every order on AVS, CVV, 3DS, IP-versus-billing and velocity signals, and responds to pre-dispute alerts automatically at no extra cost. Whether prevention or recovery is your urgent problem depends on how close you are to the network thresholds — Visa VDMP at 0.9%, Mastercard ECM at 1.5%.
Key differences explained
Blocklist versus risk scoring
A blocklist stops customers who have already burned you. Aurai scores every order on AVS, CVV, 3DS, IP-versus-billing and velocity, so first-time fraud is caught as well.
Non-fraud disputes
Item not received and not as described are the majority of dispute volume, and no blocklist prevents them.
Nothing is recovered
Blocking prevents future losses. It does not recover money already disputed. Aurai fights what has already filed.
It is genuinely cheap
A free plan against a 25% success fee. For a merchant whose entire problem is one repeat abuser, the blocklist may be all that is needed — and this page would rather say that than oversell.
Pros & cons
Aurai
Chargeback Blacklist
Which should you choose?
Choose Aurai if…
- First-time fraud is getting through
- Non-fraud disputes are most of your volume
- You want money recovered, not only losses prevented
- You want every order risk-scored, not just known-bad ones
Choose Chargeback Blacklist if…
- Repeat abusers are your specific problem
- You want a free plan to try the approach
- You already have representment handled
- Blocking by email, phone or address is enough
The bottom line
For a merchant whose entire problem is one repeat abuser, a free blocklist may be all that is needed, and this page would rather say so than oversell. But a blocklist only stops customers who have already burned you — first-time fraud and every non-fraud dispute pass through, and nothing already disputed is recovered.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Chargeback Blacklist cost?
Chargeback Blacklist's Shopify App Store listing shows: Free plan available · free trial available. Aurai charges 25% of disputes it recovers, with no monthly fee and nothing owed when it loses. Check the current listing before deciding — App Store pricing changes.
Is Chargeback Blacklist any good?
Chargeback Blacklist holds 5.0 stars from 9 reviews on the Shopify App Store as of September 9, 2026. Directly targets serial abusers, and a blocklist is the cheapest possible defence against a customer who has already disputed once.
What are the alternatives to Chargeback Blacklist?
The Shopify App Store chargeback category includes Chargeflow, Chargeback.io, Disputifier, Chargeblast, ChargePay, Signifyd, Reclaim and Aurai. They divide into prevention (alerts), representment (fighting filed disputes), guarantee (fraud reimbursement) and blocking. Chargeback Blacklist is blocking, so pick an alternative in the same category unless you are changing what you need.
Chargeback Blacklist vs Aurai — what is the difference?
Aurai screens every order on risk signals rather than only known-bad identities, and fights the disputes that get through.
Aurai builds a competing app; that is disclosed in the byline and Aurai's own lack of review history is stated alongside Chargeback Blacklist's rating. Ratings, review counts and pricing were read from the Shopify App Store on September 9, 2026and change over time. Positioning paraphrases the vendor's own listing description. Chargeback Blacklist is a trademark of Auremist; Aurai is independent and not affiliated with or endorsed by them.